Job Announcement

I am pleased to announce that I have accepted a position with Thomas N. Scheffel & Associates, P.C.! I started at the beginning of March, but I was waiting until things were a bit more “official” before I made the announcement.

 

I am utterly in awe of how the Lord works. I first contacted this firm a year ago, and interviewed with the owner in December. Despite the length of time it took from initial contact to being hired, I have clearly seen the Lord’s provision of jobs, and the timing has worked out perfectly, both for me and for the firm.

 

I am working in the litigation department, so I’m doing a variety of work from divorces to insurance cases to pre-nups. This is another area where I am in awe of how the Lord works. I always thought I wanted to be a litigator, but got that idea beat out of me in law school. It turns out that my professors only provided one perspective on the practice of law, and that you can be a litigator and have a good work-life balance. I have already been to court a couple of times, and I am excited to see the Lord providing an outlet for my passion for oral advocacy.

 

The firm also does quite a bit of estate planning, so there is the potential for me to do some of that work as well. The only trick will be convincing my supervisor to let me work for other people. J

 

Speaking of my supervisor, he is wonderful. I could not ask for better bosses or co-workers. Most of my co-workers are fellow believers, and it is evident in the way they practice law. There have been so many days where I have come home from work so encouraged – it is wonderful to hear Scripture quoted in a staff meeting and to hear attorneys tell clients that they are praying for them.

 

I moved into my office on Wednesday, which feels very surreal. And as icing on the cake – I have a mountain view! Now I just need to get my diploma from Waco so I can hang it on the wall.

photo 10

photo 9

The view from my office.

 

A huge thank you to all of you who have prayed about my job situation over the last year. The Lord has answered – and granted hopes and desires that I would never have dreamed would have been possible at my first job. So for those of you who may be waiting on answers to prayer right now, do not give up. Though it may not be (and usually isn’t) on our timetable, the Lord always answers, and He has His glory and our good in mind at all times.

 Psalm 116:7 – “Be at rest once more, O my soul, for the Lord has been good to you.”

Comments
2 Responses to “Job Announcement”
  1. Barry Snead says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!! I knew you would do it!

Leave a Reply

