A Good Week.

The Lord was gracious to me this week, and knew that I needed some encouragement. The last couple of weeks have been a bit of a rollercoaster, and I was feeling like I was at the end of my rope. I didn’t blog about it because sometimes I am afraid to put my thoughts out there for the whole world to see. Suffice it to say that I was getting very discouraged over my job situation and my life as a whole.

This whole transition out of school into the “real world” has been harder than I imagined. My expectations were also a little too high about how quickly I would be able to find legal work. This is the side of things that law school never tell you. Sure, we all know the legal market is bad, but I had no idea just how bad until I started meeting scores of attorneys, none of whom knew anyone that was hiring.

Bottom line: I do not think law school is your best life choice in the current environment. 🙂

But enough about that – I do not want this to turn into a pathetic-sounding rant (I am living in Colorado, after all, with gorgeous views of the mountains on a daily basis!)

This week was just the shot in the arm that I needed. From feeling more comfortable at work, to getting several responses to applications I had submitted, and a great meeting with an attorney on Wednesday, it was overall a very encouraging week.

I am also becoming more comfortable with living in “limbo.” I wish that I could give people a definite answer when they ask what my plans are for Christmas. I wish I could give apartment complexes a definite move-in date. But I cannot. And for now, that is okay. I am learning to be okay with the transition, the uncertainty, and the week-by-week, day-by-day focus that comes with it.

While I certainly would not wish my situation on anyone else, it is good. I am learning to trust the Lord’s provision, even  though it does not look like what I thought it would. And I am excited to see what He has in store next. It may not look to the outside world like it is “better,” but I have confidence that it will be.

Leave a Reply

