Lots of Exciting Things. And Pictures.

It has been a rollercoaster of a week. Or rather, make that 10 days. Last week was my first full week at work, and I had forgotten how draining it is to get into a new schedule. Add to that the fact that I am working later than my usual bedtime, and I was really dragging by the end of the week. I thought that 22 hours a week would leave me plenty of time for other things, but it actually eats up quite a bit of time!! Add to that continuing to try and network, apply for jobs, exercise, and give myself a little down time…and there goes the week. 🙂

I am really enjoying my job, though. I am working at the front desk of a gym, and now that I’m starting to feel comfortable with how to work the computer system, I think it is going to be great and not too mentally draining. However, standing on your feet for 8 hours a day is killer. Never have my feet and lower back hurt so much – even running a half marathon doesn’t compare! I’m hoping that eventually my body will adjust and become tougher…

Last Friday, AG arrived in town for my swearing-in ceremony. Man, it was SOOOO good to see her. I did not realize how lonely I was until I had her here for a few days. Even though I have talked to lots of friends and family on the phone, and I am living with a family, it still does not compare to being “settled” and having close friends nearby. We’re hoping she’ll be able to move in the next six weeks or so, and it can’t come a moment too soon!

On Saturday we did some hiking at Chautauqua Park in Boulder. The weather was beautiful, and the views of the city are great!! My legs were unhappy with me adding an uphill climb as a second workout, but I enjoyed the downhill section. 🙂 We were only out there for about an hour because it was lunchtime and I was starting to get hangry…but I will definitely go back!

P1080176

100_7622

P1080193

100_7617

P1080196

100_7619

Sunday morning we squeezed in a trail run before church. I loved this trail – it was nice and flat. 🙂 We were also running through pastures right next to cows, which was a little unnerving, but the cows seemed pretty used to people running past them. The number of trails and open space around me is a huge plus to where I am living. In less than five minutes, I can be somewhere that looks like the middle of nowhere, but I’m actually only 10 minutes from anything I need. The best of both worlds.

IMG_3517

IMG_3527

IMG_3526

IMG_3525

On Sunday, we headed to Denver to stay in a hotel for a few days for my swearing-in ceremony. AG got a fantastic deal on Priceline’s bidding option – I definitely recommend it if you need a hotel! We, in classic style, decided to live cheaply while staying at a fancy hotel. Sunday night we headed to Walmart to get stuff for dinner. Check out our spread:

P1080202

The awesome thing about Colorado is November is that it was cold enough outside that the patio served as a cheap refrigerator. You may think I am kidding, but I am totally serious. Who needs to pay a $15 charge for a microfridge? Maybe someday when I actually have a job…actually, scratch that. I will probably always travel cheaply. 🙂

Monday was my swearing-in ceremony. I am now officially licensed and (technically) I can practice law! I say technically because I need to nail down malpractice insurance before I start handing out legal advice…

P1080205

The ceremony itself was really short, but I actually enjoyed the speakers. The ceremony itself is a session of the Colorado Supreme Court, so all of the justices were there, along with a lot of the Court of Appeals judges.

P1080207

P1080209

I was lucky enough to have two people in the audience with me, and we went out to dinner to celebrate after. It was a wonderful last “hoop,” and I am super grateful to finally be done with the process of becoming an attorney!

P1080213

P1080214

P1080216

And now I am back to the daily grind. The next two weeks are going to be kind of crazy – I’m already a little nervous about the number of things I have on my calendar. This weekend, I’m enjoying tons of downtime to prepare! 🙂

Leave a Reply

