City o’ City, Again

Whew – it has been a crazy couple of days. Last week, over the course of six days, I went to Denver four times. It’s only a 30 minute drive, but psychologically it feels like I am making a long-distance trip every time I go. 🙂 (Though it is more like an hour in traffic.)

Last Friday morning, I woke up to this sight:

100_7599

For the first time ever, I got to see snow in October. I was pretty psyched. 🙂

Over the weekend, two of my friends from Waco came into town for a conference. It was super wonderful to be able to hang out with people I know. So far, I have kept busy enough that I haven’t really felt lonely. However, it was nice to not have to introduce myself or talk about the law.

100_7606

On Sunday, we went to City O’ City for lunch. Note: I will be taking anyone who comes to visit me to this restaurant. Just be prepared. I had the Udon Noodle Bowl (in an effort to try something different every time I go). It was really good, though I did not eat most of the broth because it was super spicy!

100_7601

For dessert, I got the Chocolate Torte. It was a little pricey ($7), but so amazingly delicious and rich. It had a raspberry cabernet sauce which was really nice. The torte itself was super sweet and rich, and the sauce was more tart, which was a nice balance. After the first bite, I wasn’t sure if I would like the raspberry sauce (I could taste the wine), but after a couple more bites it really wasn’t noticeable.

100_7602

On Thursday while I was in Denver, I stopped at Big Fat Cupcake to treat myself. Thursday was an off day, so I used that as an excuse to reward myself. 🙂

Two words: Heath Cupcake. It was a chocolate cupcake with vanilla buttercream rolled in Heath bar.  Heath pieces have become my new latest obsession (they are really good on frozen yogurt), and this cupcake did not disappoint. I could only eat half at a time because it was so rich. I am not usually a frosting person, but I liked the buttercream. It was nice and soft, and was a nice contrast to all the chocolate.

100_7597

I will post more about my “professional” goings-on in another post. Because really, who wants to mix business and chocolate? (Actually, on second thought, that sounds like a wonderful idea.)

Leave a Reply

