Poor Man’s Soup

Yesterday was perfect soup weather. I don’t think the temperature went above 50 degrees, and it drizzled outside all day. I got a taste of just how cold I am going to be all winter. It was 70 degrees in the house, and I was freezing! Look like I will be learning how to layer this winter… 🙂

Unfortunately, when I looked at soup recipes, I was missing several ingredients required for each one. I finally decided that I was going to make Chicken Noodle Soup, even if I had to tweak the recipe. Those of you who know me will know that I was desperate – I always follow recipes, measuring everything exactly to ensure that I do not “mess it up.” I could not make up a recipe if my life depended on it. Apparently cold weather cravings are enough to make me throw all that out of the window.

What I ended up with was a cross between Chicken Noodle and Lentil Soup. This recipe is a great way to use the lentils in your cupboard (which, if you are like me, having been sitting there for longer than I can remember…)!

Poor Man’s Soup (or Whatever-You-Have-in-the-Pantry Soup)

Adapted from AllRecipes

Servings: 3

Prep Time: 40 minutes

**The measurements for the chicken, noodles, and broccoli are approximate. I just put in however much looked right

4 cups chicken broth (If you like a soupier consistency, use more)

2 chicken thighs

1/4 tsp. basil

1/4 tsp. oregano

1/4 tsp. turmeric (optional)

1/2 cup lentils

1 cup frozen broccoli

3/4 cup rotini (or egg noodles, or whatever pasta you like best)

2 Tbsp. (dash) Half and Half

Salt to taste

Combine chicken, broth, and spices. Bring to a boil and then simmer until the chicken is cooked almost entirely. Add lentils and cook for 20 minutes. Add broccoli, rotini, and half & half. Cook for about 10 minutes, until broccoli and pasta are cooked. Add salt to taste.

100_7594

Comments
2 Responses to “Poor Man’s Soup”
  1. finally, my recipe experimentation (and success) has rubbed off on you! 🙂

  2. LFFL says:

    Just love the name!

Leave a Reply

