I Never Thought I Could Be a Defense Attorney…

(NOTE: I swore that I posted this about six weeks ago, but it was still in my drafts folder. So enjoy this throwback to Bar studying!).

Until I encountered the Multistate Bar Examiners’ multiple choice questions. Suddenly, my very black-and-white brain seems to be able to spot every single ambiguity (or perceived ambiguity) in these questions.

Sheesh.

And I thought four answer choices would be a piece of cake compared to the 10+ answer choices we were given in Practice Court (no lie – they frequently went A-J or further).

Also, it seems I have an uncanny ability to over-think things. I cannot tell you how many times the reviewer on the video has said, “This is an easy/straightforward question” and I’ve gotten it wrong.

Nothing like a little confidence booster three weeks before I take the actual Bar exam.

In contrast, when he says, “This is a complicated/difficult/confusion question,” I often think, “What’s so bad about this one? It didn’t seem that hard.”

Well, at least I can find my way out of the tricky ones. Now if I could just figure out how to

Add to this my continuing confusion over Evidence topics that were poorly taught during Practice Court and the visuals/bad memories they bring up, and my brain is scrambled by the end of the day.

But, in good news, I am either passing or just on the cusp of passing every practice session I take. And in the end, that’s all that matters. 69%, here I come. 🙂

Leave a Reply

