Bar Exam Recap

I have quite a few posts in the works from last week, but figured I would start with a recap of the week. I’ll start with the biggest topic: What was the Bar exam like?

I was definitely way more nervous the week before. I have always hated packing (trying to pick what I want to wear a week in advance stresses me out), and this time I had the added pressure of making sure that my admission badges, surge protector, and everything else I needed for the test made it into my bag. Additionally, we didn’t have a rental car, so we were taking a bus from the airport and then walking a mile to the hotel, which was another one-mile walk from the convention center. Lots of logistics to figure out!

IMG_3080

Once we arrived in Denver, though, I was much more calm. I was nervous about getting to the convention center on time, and not forgetting stuff, but overall I was feeling really good and just ready to take the exam and be done with it.

When I walked in the room on Tuesday morning, I was astounded by the number of people that were there – there were seat numbers up into the 1100s. My first thought was, “No wonder I can’t find a job! Where did all of these people come from?!?!” 🙂 It turns out that there were 965 of us. Unbelievable.

Here are some fun Bar exam facts I found on the internet while waiting for the exam to start on Tuesday morning (I can’t study the morning of – it freaks me out):

  • The average number of people who pass the Bar exam each year (nationwide): 55,200
  • Average pass rate: 76.5%
  • If you do the math for the previous two statistics, you end up with the number of people who take the Bar exam each year: 72,157
  • This means an average of 1,443 per state
  • Okay, enough with the math. Here’s an interesting article on a Texan who is claiming the Bar Exam unconstitutionally restricts his free speech.
  • Then there’s this list of the Top 10 Strangest Things Seen During a Bar Exam. Sadly (or fortunately??), I did not see anything strange. No good stories here!

Overall, the exam wasn’t too bad. Do not get me wrong – I never want to have to take it again. But that is not because the exam itself was terrible. I just do not want to set aside the huge amount of time required to study for the test!

What surprised me the most was how tired I was on Wednesday morning. I knew that I would crash after the exam, but I didn’t imagine it would happen on the second day. The morning portion of the multiple choice on Wednesday was probably the hardest portion of the test, because I was just so tired. Lots of coffee was consumed over lunch! I think I was more nervous about the essays, so once I finished those and felt confident, my body decided to relax. Oops!

The trip itself was wonderful. It was overcast and rained several times during the week, but the weather was amazing. The highs were in the 80s and 90s, but it cooled off into the 50s and 60s overnight. Heavenly!! I’m definitely dying in the Texas heat this week.

Well, I think that’s about it. And I promise that I will stop talking about the Bar exam now. 🙂 All the rest of the posts will be restaurant reviews with lots of pictures!! 🙂

IMG_3071

Leave a Reply

